What’s Cooking Wednesdays: Tomato Rice Soup Florentine

So I got home from grocery shopping last night, and of course I

a) was starving; and

b) needed to make room in the fridge for the new arrivals.

In the tradition of Semi-Homemade (I have never watched the show or read her books, but I embrace the concept wholeheartedly), I came up with this soup which cleared out some leftover rice, almost expired mozzarella, and tomatoes that were just a bit past their prime, and got supper on the table fast. This would have been even more delicious with some garlic toast on the side.

Tomato Rice Soup Florentine

  • 1 package (300 g) frozen chopped spinach (of course fresh spinach would have been better)
  • 2 cans condensed cream of tomato soup
  • 2 cans of broth/stock or water
  • Leftover cooked rice (I had maybe 2 cups, which made for a very thick almost porridge-like soup the next day, so a bit less might be preferable)
  • 3 or 4 fresh tomatoes, chopped (you can seed and peel them if you’re feeling fancy, but I didn’t bother)
  • Seasoning to taste: chopped fresh herbs such as basil, chives, oregano, dill, etc. would be fab here, if you’ve got ’em; or a squeeze of basil paste, a healthy dollop of pesto, or a few shakes of Italian seasoning and red pepper flakes or fresh ground black pepper
  • About 2 cups grated mozzarella

Dump everything except the mozzarella in a large-ish saucepan on medium heat and cook, stirring frequently, until the spinach is thawed and everything is heated through. Add mozzarella, stir well until melted, and serve.

I’d guess this made a good 6-8 servings, so if you don’t want leftovers, you might want to cut the recipe in half.

About Lisa

My name is Lisa, and I used to have a mostly knitting blog called 42 Main Street, at http://www2.cyg.net/~lisafortin. I became a mom in January 2010, and suddenly I wasn't knitting very much any more. Then Blogger stopped supporting FTP and I couldn't keep blogging at that address any more. Although I originally planned to start a new 42 Main Street on WordPress, somehow that identity didn't really fit any more, so I decided it was "Time to Reboot," and that's why you'll find me here now: https://timetoreboot.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in What's Cookin' Wednesdays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

