My favourite soup of the moment

Yes, I have been remiss in updating the blog. I am getting back on the wagon now. Sorry about the neglect.

I added tofu to this recipe from Anne Lindsay’s New Light Cooking. Tofu haters can leave it out, of course, but I really like it in this soup, which is fast, easy, nutritious, filling, low in fat, inexpensive, and warming during these cold November days. Use vegetable stock for a vegetarian version. Derek doesn’t care for it, which means more for me!

Quick Black Bean, Corn, Tomato, and Tofu Soup

2 tsp olive oil
2 onions, chopped
4 tsp chili powder
1 can (28 oz/796 ml) diced tomatoes
1 3/4 cups vegetable or chicken stock
1 can (19 oz/540 ml) black beans, drained and rinsed
1 1/2 cups corn kernels
1 block extra firm tofu, diced (I think it was 1 pound) – optional
2 Tbsp coarsely chopped packed fresh cilantro – optional

1. In large heavy saucepan, heat oil over medium heat; cook onions and chili powder, stirring often, for 5-8 minutes or until tender.

2. Add tomatoes, stock, beans, corn, and optional tofu. Simmer, stirring often, for 5-10 minutes, or until slightly thickened. Stir in optional cilantro. Makes approximately 6 servings. This will keep in the fridge, covered, for 3 days.

Speaking of tofu: today’s link of the day, for those who haven’t checked it out from my sidebar yet, is my friend Lindsay’s blog, The Kitchen Operas. Her recipes, all vegetarian, are inspired and inspiring!

About Lisa

My name is Lisa, and I used to have a mostly knitting blog called 42 Main Street, at http://www2.cyg.net/~lisafortin. I became a mom in January 2010, and suddenly I wasn't knitting very much any more. Then Blogger stopped supporting FTP and I couldn't keep blogging at that address any more. Although I originally planned to start a new 42 Main Street on WordPress, somehow that identity didn't really fit any more, so I decided it was "Time to Reboot," and that's why you'll find me here now: https://timetoreboot.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Link of the day, What's Cookin' Wednesdays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

