We now return you to our regularly scheduled programming.

Look! It’s another scarf! And there are more scarves to come! This one is a belated gift for my friend Margaret’s 41st birthday, which was back in August. She’s allergic to wool, but luckily she has no problem with cashmere. The colour is “Natural Woman” and the pattern is called “Hallie”; further details here on Ravelry. This was knit lengthwise on 5.5 mm circulars. Let me tell you, when I was about 1/4 of the way done binding off the 600 or so stitches only to realize I didn’t have enough yarn to finish, I was mighty discouraged at having to tink back. And because I used the super stretchy “Lace” bind-off to ensure the ruffles would drape nicely, I then ran out of yarn again on binding off, this time with about 34 stitches left to go. I wanted to cry. Lucky for me, my beloved MIL Shirley was there. She saved my butt by showing me how to do a crochet bind-off of the remaining stitches (I’d completely forgotten the Harlot’s linked tutorial there). You can see where the two different bind-offs meet if you look VERY closely, so it’s not perfect, but it was good enough for me, so this sucker is done. Onto the next gift scarf. Why oh why did I commit to so many gift scarves this year? It feels like that’s all I will be knitting forever now. Oh, and sorry for the crappy flash photo that recreates a scarf post from 2005, but it’s cold and dismally grey outside and I need to get this done before Sam’s nap is over.

About Lisa

My name is Lisa, and I used to have a mostly knitting blog called 42 Main Street, at http://www2.cyg.net/~lisafortin. I became a mom in January 2010, and suddenly I wasn't knitting very much any more. Then Blogger stopped supporting FTP and I couldn't keep blogging at that address any more. Although I originally planned to start a new 42 Main Street on WordPress, somehow that identity didn't really fit any more, so I decided it was "Time to Reboot," and that's why you'll find me here now: https://timetoreboot.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Crafty Thursdays, Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We now return you to our regularly scheduled programming.

  1. mf says:

    prettyyyyyyyy ❤

Leave a Reply

