Let’s just pretend it’s Monday, OK?

2010 Christmas tree

So I tried to put up a blog post last night before going to bed, and just when I was almost done, stupid Firefox froze up totally and I lost my work. It was my own damn fault, really, because instead of writing my post in WordPress, which saves drafts periodically, I was using the “blog this” feature in Flickr, which of course does not save drafts at all. Grr. So I will now attempt to reproduce said post tonight. The good thing in all this is that in telling a friend of mine about my misfortune tonight (happy birthday again, Rob!), I learned that there is an add-on called Lazarus that can save my bacon next time that happens…Yay!

It’s been another busy few days here at Casa Fortin-Koch. On Friday, Tanya came for a girls’ dinner while Derek was volunteering at the annual Christmas in the Village event. After Sam’s dinner, we took him for a brief walkabout of the festivities, getting free popcorn from Derek at the hardware store (where Tanya took advantage of the opportunity to buy a couple new tools), hot cider and cookies at the old gift shop, more cookies at the new gift shop, and buying the most decadent pecan butter tarts for our dessert at the grocery store. What a lovely evening. (P.S. Happy birthday again, Tanya! December 7 is a good day.)

On Saturday, I got all my Christmas shopping done except for a couple things I need to order online!! Woo-hoo! On a Saturday in December! It wasn’t as bad as I’d feared, probably because the stores were properly staffed for the rush. It also helped that I’m getting gift cards for the older nieces and nephews. Not my preference — I’d much rather be able to give them a “thing” they can unwrap on Christmas morning — but I know this will make them happy, and really, isn’t that what Christmas is about? I’ll make a point of taking them shopping personally to spend their gifts.

Sunday, I listened to a repeat of the Vinyl Cafe: the very first one I’d ever heard, actually, 2 years ago. I remember it so clearly; I was in the car alone and had the radio tuned to CBC. I’d only been listening to CBC for a few months, and wasn’t usually in the car when the show was on. Stuart McLean was in the middle of a Dave and Morley story (“The Gloves“). Now those of you who know me know I haaaaate walking into the middle of a movie or story. (I never ever read the ending of a book ahead of time.) But McLean’s voice was so captivating that even though I didn’t know who these characters were or what had happened at the beginning of the story, I was compelled to keep listening, at least until I got where I was going and had to leave the car before learning what the show was. I caught the program I.D. (and learned showtimes) a few weeks later by stumbling on it again, and have been a faithful listener ever since. Stuart McLean is a national treasure; I am kicking myself for not having become a fan years and years ago. Oh well. We are going to see the Christmas concert with Neil and Tanya next week at Centre in the Square, so excited!!

Later on Sunday, I put up the Christmas tree. Sorry about the blur, on closer inspection there appear to be Sam fingerprints on the camera lens… Very different tree from past years. I treated myself to a new pre-lit tree this year, with the newer “warm” white LEDs. I’d call them more a true white, not yellow like the old incandescent clear lights, but not that icy pale blue of the first-generation clear LEDs. In any case, a very nice change from the multicolour lights I always had in the past. And what a nifty invention the pre-lit tree is. I always dreaded stringing the lights on the tree… now I don’t have to any more! Yay! This year, to protect Sam, I have avoided putting up any of my delicate breakable glass and porcelain ornaments, and instead brought out a bunch of Derek’s old handmade decorations, made by him as a child, and by his mom and grandma etc, as well as a variety of eclectic things I’ve received over the years from various people, and combined them with the white lace, metallic, and wood/straw-toned unbreakable pieces I’ve used in the past. It’s a very “country” look, primarily red and white (as opposed to burgundy and white as in past years), but I really like it, much more than I expected I would!

So now I just need to get the Christmas cards done (I picked up the pictures on Saturday), and I will be officially ready for Christmas (well, except for the gift knitting on which I am behind — as evidenced by the August birthday gift I just finished last week)!

P.S. I have changed Monday’s theme to Random Mondays to allow for other ramblings than just narcissistic ones… 🙂

About Lisa

My name is Lisa, and I used to have a mostly knitting blog called 42 Main Street, at http://www2.cyg.net/~lisafortin. I became a mom in January 2010, and suddenly I wasn't knitting very much any more. Then Blogger stopped supporting FTP and I couldn't keep blogging at that address any more. Although I originally planned to start a new 42 Main Street on WordPress, somehow that identity didn't really fit any more, so I decided it was "Time to Reboot," and that's why you'll find me here now: https://timetoreboot.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Random Mondays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s just pretend it’s Monday, OK?

  1. mf says:

    *jealous of Christmas tree*

  2. Lisa says:

    It was on sale for half price at Zellers recently, maybe black Friday? For $99, I couldn’t resist.

Leave a Reply

