I may be obsessed with soup.

So I had some leftover roasted butternut squash that wasn’t really appealing to eat plain a second night in a row — it was a bit grainy and stringy and kind of blah, not as delightfully sweet as some winter squash I’ve had in the past. Since I’m always happy to eat soup, especially creamy puréed soup, I thought, OK, let’s see if we can find an appealing squash soup recipe. I recommend this method of finding a new recipe if you are pressed for time or just don’t feel like leafing through your recipe books (or don’t collect recipe books like I do). It’s rare that I don’t feel like looking at a recipe book, but I am sometimes too rushed for time. I fired up the website allrecipes.com (others you can try include epicurious and Tasty Kitchen), did a search on “squash soup,” and made the one that had the highest rating with the most number of reviews, Mary’s Butternut Squash Soup. I made the modifications suggested by several reviewers: subbed in butter for margarine, chicken stock for water and chicken bouillon cubes, and roasted squash for raw, and reduced the amount of cream cheese. OMG it was dead easy, and SO delicious! Easily made vegetarian by substituting vegetable stock for the chicken stock. The cream cheese adds amazing richness. This one’s a definite keeper. Great way to use up leftover squash.

About Lisa

My name is Lisa, and I used to have a mostly knitting blog called 42 Main Street, at http://www2.cyg.net/~lisafortin. I became a mom in January 2010, and suddenly I wasn't knitting very much any more. Then Blogger stopped supporting FTP and I couldn't keep blogging at that address any more. Although I originally planned to start a new 42 Main Street on WordPress, somehow that identity didn't really fit any more, so I decided it was "Time to Reboot," and that's why you'll find me here now: https://timetoreboot.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in What's Cookin' Wednesdays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

