Look what I made!

I made this little tree for the K-W Knitters’ Guild annual handmade holiday ornament exchange. (Ornaments do not have to be knitted, but they must be made by hand.) The ornament I made last year was sad and pathetic and was not picked until close to last (I certainly didn’t bother photographing it), so I wanted to make something a little more worthy this year, since some of last year’s contributions by my fellow Guild members were just spectacular, as was the case again this year. This little number is my own design, made up entirely out of my own head. I traced a tree shape from a cookie cutter on two layers of storebought felt (I wasn’t quite dedicated enough to make my own felt, especially since white wool doesn’t always felt reliably), then strung some pretty beads from my newly acquired stash donated by my friend Kristen and sewed them on. I sewed the two trees together with gold embroidery thread using blanket stitch, then stuffed the ornament with polyfill before finishing. I’m really pleased with the result, and as hoped, it was snatched up very quickly! I picked out a yarn ball made by one of my Guild friends, similar to this. (I should have taken a picture before putting away the Christmas tree yesterday.) Now I will always think of her when I hang it on the tree every year!

About Lisa

My name is Lisa, and I used to have a mostly knitting blog called 42 Main Street, at http://www2.cyg.net/~lisafortin. I became a mom in January 2010, and suddenly I wasn't knitting very much any more. Then Blogger stopped supporting FTP and I couldn't keep blogging at that address any more. Although I originally planned to start a new 42 Main Street on WordPress, somehow that identity didn't really fit any more, so I decided it was "Time to Reboot," and that's why you'll find me here now: https://timetoreboot.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Beading, Crafty Thursdays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Look what I made!

  1. Kristen says:

    That’s lovely, Lisa.
    And it looks so much like a cookie, with marzipan frosting and hard candy decorations.

  2. mf says:

    I meant to comment the other day – this is very, very pretty!

Leave a Reply

