I am ridiculously pleased with this cake.

On Saturday we had Sam’s godparents over for a belated birthday dinner; they brought the main course, and I made the cake. At first I was just going to keep it simple and make a boring square cake, but that didn’t feel festive enough. So I did a bit of looking on Google Images for ideas for car cakes, since Sam is utterly fascinated by anything that has wheels right now. (Luckily he has more vehicle toys than I would have ever thought possible.) Holy cow did I see some impressive, gorgeous work out there, crazy realistic 3D racecar cakes — way more involved and complicated than I was prepared to do at the last minute on Saturday afternoon. But then I came across a picture somewhat similar to this, and I thought, OK, I can do that. So I baked a smallish rectangular carrot cake that I then cut to shape, with two large, shallow (flat topped) cupcakes for wheels. I used the traditional cream cheese icing for the body, Nutella for the wheels, and (again thanks to the wonders of the interwebs, because I really did not want to be making coloured icing and figuring out how to pipe it), cut out fruit roll-ups for decorations, with some large sprinkles to spell out his name. It is clearly a homemade, not professional cake, but I think it has a certain humble charm, no? At least not a candidate for Cake Wrecks, I hope… (If you don’t know Cake Wrecks, you should go check it out now: OMG hilarious.)

Anyway, here’s the fabulously moist, reasonably healthful carrot cake recipe I used, courtesy of my dear MIL Shirley. You will note it has NO DREADED RAISINS, although I suppose you could add some if you are one of those raisin fans…

Carrot Cake

1 cup grated carrot
3 eggs
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 cup sugar (I used brown sugar)
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (I chopped them finer than usual for Sam’s benefit, and toasted them in the oven as it preheated)
14 oz can crushed pineapple, drained

Whisk eggs, oil, and sugar together in large mixing bowl. Stir flour, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon together. Add to egg mixture and blend thoroughly. Mix in carrots, nuts, and drained pineapple. Pour batter into greased 8×8-inch baking pan. Bake at 350F for 40 minutes or until cake tests done.

Cream Cheese Frosting

125 g cream cheese (I double this)
3 Tbsp butter, softened
1 1/2 cups icing sugar (I halve this — I like a very cheesy, not too sweet frosting)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp lemon juice

Beat all ingredients together until smooth and creamy, and frost completely cooled cake.

About Lisa

My name is Lisa, and I used to have a mostly knitting blog called 42 Main Street, at http://www2.cyg.net/~lisafortin. I became a mom in January 2010, and suddenly I wasn't knitting very much any more. Then Blogger stopped supporting FTP and I couldn't keep blogging at that address any more. Although I originally planned to start a new 42 Main Street on WordPress, somehow that identity didn't really fit any more, so I decided it was "Time to Reboot," and that's why you'll find me here now: https://timetoreboot.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in What's Cookin' Wednesdays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I am ridiculously pleased with this cake.

  1. Justine says:

    Beautiful cake Lisa! You win top prize in the birthday cake category of the Mommy Awards. Unfortunately, there is neither money nor notoriety attached to this prize, but you do win the respect and admiration of fellow moms. 🙂

Leave a Reply

