Maybe I should change the category to “Soupy Wednesdays”

I don’t ever seem to get tired of soup. Here’s the one I made today — almost a stew. Very hearty… perfect for a snow day. It’s based on Mollie Katzen’s Minestrone from The Moosewood Cookbook. Sorry for the long absence; I’ve gone back to work, and let’s just say that blogging has become, well, less of a priority.

2 Tbsp olive oil
2 cups chopped onion
5-6 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp salt
1 stalk celery, chopped
1 large carrot, diced
1 large parsnip, diced
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp basil
1 medium bell pepper, diced (yellow is pretty with the other colours here)
4 cups water
1 28-oz can diced tomatoes, including juice
1 1/2 cups canned kidney beans (other cooked/canned beans or chickpeas would be good here)
1 cup dry pasta, any shape (I used bowties)

1. Heat the olive oil in a big pot. Add onion, garlic, and salt. Sauté over medium heat for about 5 minutes, then add celery, carrot, parsnip, oregano, and basil. (She also calls for fresh black pepper here, which would have been good, but I left it out to keep the soup mild for Sam, then forgot to add some to my bowl.) Cover and cook over very low heat about 10 more minutes, stirring occasionally.

2. Add bell pepper (oops, I put it in with the other veggies… and it was fine), water, and tomatoes. Cover and simmer about 15 minutes. Add beans and simmer another 5 minutes.

3. Bring the soup to a gentle boil. Add pasta, stir, and cook until the pasta is tender. Serve topped with minced fresh parsley (if you have it… I didn’t) and grated parmesan (which I forgot… soup was delicious even so).

About Lisa

My name is Lisa, and I used to have a mostly knitting blog called 42 Main Street, at http://www2.cyg.net/~lisafortin. I became a mom in January 2010, and suddenly I wasn't knitting very much any more. Then Blogger stopped supporting FTP and I couldn't keep blogging at that address any more. Although I originally planned to start a new 42 Main Street on WordPress, somehow that identity didn't really fit any more, so I decided it was "Time to Reboot," and that's why you'll find me here now: https://timetoreboot.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in What's Cookin' Wednesdays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

