The return of Dudesday!

My little guy is getting so big! He sure does love his homemade mac & cheese. And I love the red walls in the kitchen of my new place, even though it took five (yes, FIVE!) coats of paint to get them that colour. (I know, I’ll have to paint over it when I leave, or forfeit a portion of my deposit. I don’t care. Aaaaaanyway….)

It’s September, what can I say, it feels like time to go back to school, or in my case, go back to blogging. It’s been a busy few months — there will be lots to catch up on.

First up: Dude. He’s growing up so fast, before my very eyes. He seems to be adjusting to his new living arrangements, going back and forth between his dad’s and my place. Nowadays he’s generally eating well, sleeping better and better, and is in pretty good spirits most of the time. (It was rocky at the start, though, lemme tell ya… Good thing kids are resilient.) However… he does seem to be a bit speech delayed. He barely says any recognizable words at all besides “Up.” He actually seems to have lost a bit of ground, linguistically, since I moved out. Derek and I are doing what we can to encourage his linguistic development, and his daycare has begun the referral process for speech therapy (referrals take 6 months… at which point he may be fine, but if he’s not, we’ll be glad of the help, to be sure). He babbles lots of nonsense now, and he can follow simple instructions (if he feels like it… sigh), *seems* to understand much of what I’m saying (I think), but still… I worry. I’ve heard plenty of stories of kids (especially but not only) boys who talked late and who are fine today. Even so, any parents out there reading who have suggestions, ideas, support… I’d be grateful for them!

(Could this post have any more parentheses or ellipses…?)

About Lisa

My name is Lisa, and I used to have a mostly knitting blog called 42 Main Street, at http://www2.cyg.net/~lisafortin. I became a mom in January 2010, and suddenly I wasn't knitting very much any more. Then Blogger stopped supporting FTP and I couldn't keep blogging at that address any more. Although I originally planned to start a new 42 Main Street on WordPress, somehow that identity didn't really fit any more, so I decided it was "Time to Reboot," and that's why you'll find me here now: https://timetoreboot.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Dudesdays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The return of Dudesday!

  1. mf says:

    Yeah, my sister Marie-Hélène was 4 when she started being intelligible to anyone but myself and Jean-François (yes, even my parents couldn’t make out what she was saying). But then she suddenly started speaking in full sentences!

  2. JennyP says:

    It sure is good to see a post from you, Lisa! I’ve been thinking about you – and miss you! I had friends in Uni who’s little guy didn’t speak a word until he was nearly 3 1/2. He understood everything you said to him, followed direction and watched/listened very intently, but didn’t actually start talking for a long time…and then it was complete sentences with a surprising vocabulary 🙂

Leave a Reply

