Happy 2013!

I thought I’d take a crack at blogging again in 2013. We’ll see how it goes; I’m not going to make any grand promises or resolutions here. Just feeling an itch to start posting again. Figured since it’s Tuesday, I’d do a quick Dudesday post with a Christmas picture of Mr. Sam. I still marvel at how he has developed this year. We (his dad, stepmom, and I) have gone from quite concerned about his speech at the beginning of 2012, to utterly delighted with his progress by the end of it. And it’s not just his speech. For example, he is assembling 12-16 piece jigsaw puzzles now with surprising ease. I had mistakenly assumed the puzzle he’s working on in this picture would be more difficult than proved to be the case. I’m not saying he’s necessarily gifted or brighter than the average about-to-turn-3-year-old. Rather, I think need to read up more on child development, so that I give him age-appropriate challenges, and don’t baby him. I haven’t given Dude enough credit this year for what he is able to do.

ETA: On the subject of Sam’s speech… Possibly the best (and certainly most surprising) thing he uttered during the entire holiday season (maybe all year) was when he went up to my mom on Saturday as she was working in the kitchen:

“Gramma?”

“Yes, Sam?”

“Will you marry me?”

We all looked at each other like, “Did he just say what I think he said?” then burst out laughing. No idea where he got that from. But you bet my mom said yes!

About Lisa

My name is Lisa, and I used to have a mostly knitting blog called 42 Main Street, at http://www2.cyg.net/~lisafortin. I became a mom in January 2010, and suddenly I wasn't knitting very much any more. Then Blogger stopped supporting FTP and I couldn't keep blogging at that address any more. Although I originally planned to start a new 42 Main Street on WordPress, somehow that identity didn't really fit any more, so I decided it was "Time to Reboot," and that's why you'll find me here now: https://timetoreboot.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Dudesdays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy 2013!

  1. mf says:

    Wee adorable Sam!

Leave a Reply

